The Peoria Chapter of the American Guild of Organists is pleased to present the inaugural concert of a multi-year endowment to promote the development of 21st century organ literature. Dr. John C. Orfe will perform an organ recital at Westminster Presbyterian Church, 1420 W. Moss Ave. in Peoria, on Friday evening, March 31, at 7:30 p.m. The program will feature a world premiere by Dr. Orfe alongside works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Brahms, Camille Saint-Saëns, and Sir James MacMillan.

Sir James MacMillan, whose choral anthem “Who Shall Separate Us” was memorably sung at the funeral of Queen Elizabeth II, is represented by his brilliant and colorful stand-alone Toccata. Johannes Brahms’ stand-alone Fugue in A-flat minor is a distillation of highly expressive (and highly advanced!) contrapuntal study. Camille Saint-Saëns, justly celebrated for his “Organ” Symphony, proves equally excellent in his music for solo organ, here represented by the Prelude and Fugue in E-flat major, Op. 99, No. 3. Of particular significance on the program is Johann Sebastian Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 538 (“Dorian”), whose scope, architectural design, and virtuosity exceed Bach’s more famous piece in the same key.

Admission for this concert is free. However, free-will offerings will be accepted for the continued support of the Peoria AGO Chapter.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.